The Chanhassen Fire Department inducted four new firefighters to its ranks on June 17 in its traditional “Black Hat Ceremony.”

Black hat recipients are Jerome Coyne III, Matthew Rosati, Marissa Smith, and Ryan Sullivan.

Firefighting recruits wear yellow hats during their rookie year of training exercises and calls. After successful completion of coursework and certification, they’re welcomed to the department with the presentation of their black hats that identify them as full-fledged firefighters, as well as their official badges.

Fire Chief Don Johnson also introduced two new firefighters to the department, Alyssa Ulrich and William Siems, who completed their firefighter training with other fire departments. They joined the Chanhassen department, as they both work in Chanhassen, and are available for daytime fire calls.

The Black Hat ceremony, a fire department tradition, took place this year in the Chanhassen Public Works building on Park Place.

Mayor Elise Ryan gave a brief speech, followed by recognition and swearing in of newly promoted Fire Captain Rob Weidman. The department also recognized the service anniversaries of Matt Grady, Dan O’Mara, and Dawn Smith — 5 years; Capt. Chad Olsen — 10 years, and Daisy Anderson — 15 years.

The rookie firefighters class of 2019 — Elijah Bach, Evan Thoreson, and Molly Tokarczyk — were also introduced.


Unsie Zuege is an award-winning multimedia journalist, who enjoys community journalism, bibimbop, Netflix, Trivia Mafia and snuggling tiny dogs, not necessarily in that order.


Recommended for you