Three adult leaders from Troop 337 in Chanhassen and Chaska received recognition on May 2 from the Lake Minnetonka District BSA at its annual recognition dinner.

Dave Ryan of Chanhassen received two honors — the Glowing Ember and a District Award of Merit; Jeff Otolski, also of Chanhassen, received the District Outstanding Scout Leader Award, and Nick Fasching of Chaska received the Outstanding Commissioner Award.

“All three of the leaders are from Scouts BSA Troop 337. Getting any one of the district awards or commissioner awards is an honor, and to have three adult leaders from the same troop receive awards is fantastic,” said Jim Haider, Troop 337 committee chair.

Troop 337 also received the Journey To Excellence (JTE) and the 100 Percent Unit Trained Awards. Troop Scoutmaster is Joe Brothers, of Chaska, and troop’s charter organization is the Victoria Lions Club.


Unsie Zuege is an award-winning multimedia journalist, who enjoys community journalism, bibimbop, Netflix, Trivia Mafia and snuggling tiny dogs, not necessarily in that order.


Recommended for you