Thousands of Carver County residents cast their ballots during the Aug. 14 primary.

Greg Boe won the Republican primary for State Representative District 47B against opponent Vince Beaudette, according results from the Secretary of State website, Tuesday night.

Boe, who is also a Chaska City Councilor, had 1,324 votes, 57 percent and Beaudette garnered 1,000 votes, at 43.03 percent of the votes.

Democrat Donzel Leggett obtained 2848 votes in the Democratic primary and had no opponents.

U.S. Representative District 3 & 6

Dean Phillips received 81.5 percent of votes against Cole Young in the Democratic primary for U.S. Representative District 3 in Carver County. U.S. Rep. Erik Paulsen received 100 percent of the votes and did not have an opponent in the Republican primary.

In the Republican primary for U.S. Representative District 6, Tom Emmer finished on top with 81 percent of votes with 1,923, A.J. Kern received 13 percent of votes with 308 and Patrick Munro finished with 6 percent in Carver County.

On the Democratic side, Ian Todd finished with 100 percent of votes with 1,527.


In Carver County, 57 percent of Republican primary voters cast their ballots for Jeff Johnson and Donna Bergstrom for Minnesota governor (3,513 votes). Former Minnesota governor Tim Pawlenty and Michelle Fischbach finished with 41 percent with 2,509.

On the Democratic side, U.S. Rep. Tim Walz and Peggy Flanagan garnered 43 percent of votes in the primary with 3,066; Minnesota Attorney General Lori Swanson and Rick Nolan received 26 percent of votes with 1,849 and Erin Murphy and Erin Maye-Quade finished with 29 percent of votes with 2,027 in Carver County.

Attorney General

For Minnesota Attorney General, U.S. Rep. Keith Ellison finished with 46 percent of votes with 3,155 in the Democratic primary, Debra Hilstrom received 21 percent of votes with 1,452 and Tom Foley finished with 12 percent of votes with 830. Chaska Mike Rothman (who serves as Minnesota Commerce Commissioner) received 9 percent of votes with 632.

In the Republican primary, Doug Wardlow finished with 50 percent with 2,759, Sharon Anderson with 32 percent with 1,793 and Robert Lessard received 18 percent with 1,021.

U.S. Senators

In the Democratic primary for U.S. Senator, U.S. Sen. Amy Klobuchar received the majority of votes in Carver County with 96 percent. Jim Newberger won the Republican primary with 76 percent.

In the Special Election for former Sen. Al Franken’s seat, current U.S. Sen. Tina Smith received 75 percent of votes in the Democrat primary and Karin Housley won the Republican primary with 69 percent.

Staff Reporter

Alex Chhith is a staff reporter at the Chaska Herald. In her spare time, she enjoys walking her dogs (Cody and Sam), catching up on the Game of Thrones and finding new restaurants. Follow her on Twitter @AlexChhith.