Free Print Subscriptions

The Chaska Herald is delivered FREE to your home if you live in the following zip codes: 55318 or 55315.

Carter Wishart was in net when Chaska/Chanhassen won a PeeWee AA state championship over Osseo/Maple Grove in 2017.

Starting for the Bantam AA Storm Hawks on March 17, 2019, a rematch with Osseo Maple Grove, the surprise Chaska/Chanhassen team saw their state run end in a 5-0 decision in Moorhead.

Scoreless through one period, Osseo Maple Grove netted four tallies, adding a fifth with the empty net.

Chaska/Chanhassen upset Edina 4-1 in the semifinals behind two assists from Zach Seltun, while Jimmy Snuggerud added a 200-foot empty netter goal and an assist.

Blake Markwell, Gracyn Sawchyn and Max Burkholder put the Storm Hawks up 3-1.

Five different players tallied goals for the Chaska/Chanahssen, with Seltun leading the way with a goal and two assists in a 5-2 win over Roseau to start the state tournament.

Warroad won the Bantam A title with Edina Green shutting out Rogers for the Bantam B championship.


Upset in the first game of the state tournament, top-ranked Chaska/Chanhassen rebounded to win the consolation title at the AA level March 17 in Stillwater.

The Storm Hawks stopped host Stillwater 5-2 in the final game.

Eden Prairie, beaten four times by Chaska/Chanhassen prior to state, eventual champions, scored a 5-4 win in the quarterfinals.

Marcus Fechko netted the winner 26 seconds into overtime after Chaska/Chanhassen rallied in the final two minutes behind goals from Sam Scheetz and Brodie Ziemer to force the extra session.

Javon Moore had two goals and an assist for the Storm Hawks.

Chaska/Chanhassen defeated Roseau 7-4 in the consolation semifinals.

At the PeeWee A level, Chaska/Chanhassen lost to eventual champion Orono in the first round March 15 in Stillwater, a 7-4 final.

Ben Norris netted four goals for Orono, which beat Edina in the finals 7-1. Alex Jensen had two tallies and an assist for the Storm Hawks.

Chaska/Chanhassen also finished fifth, defeating Spring Lake Park 5-1 and Mounds View-Irondale 7-3 in consolation play.

"The season ended a little short of goal. What a great group of kids and parents; hold your heads high and be proud of your accomplishments," PeeWee A head coach Aaron Broten said on Twitter.

Chaska/Chanhassen was also fifth at the B level, a 4-3 overtime win over Stillwater March 17 in Wayzata.

Trailing 3-2 late in regulation, Peyton Chase fed the puck to Benjamin Box to put in the tying goal with 1:08 to play. Angelo Provinzino got the game winner midway through the first overtime.

Chaska/Chanhassen, beaten 6-2 in the quarterfinals by eventual champion Orono, rebounded in a big way in the second game, a 9-0 win over Ely.

"Very proud of these boys! Sad to see this season come to an end. ... These great kids, coaches, and families made this a season we’ll never forget," the CCHA coaching staff said on Twitter.


The Minnetonka Warriors erased a three-goal deficit, defeating Edina 4-3 in overtime to win the Junior Gold A state title March 17 in Prior Lake.

Jayce Hopia scored in extra time to clinch the championship. Hopia had two goals with Wally Hemer tying the game at three in regulation.

Other top Minnetonka teams at state were PeeWee AA (third place, beat Edina 5-1 on March 17) and 15U A Girls (second place, lost 1-0 to Edina Green).

Recommended for you