The primary will be held August 11, 2020. 

Tuesday marked the last day local residents could file to run for state and county offices. The filing period opened May 19. 

A number of new faces will appear on the ballot come Election Day on Tuesday, Nov. 3, but a handful of county races are unopposed. 

For offices in cities and school districts that hold primaries, the filing period ended June 2. For other municipal and school district offices, the filing period is Tuesday, July 28 through Tuesday, Aug. 11. 

The filings for area state and county races include the following, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State Office. Incumbents are marked with an asterisk.

State Offices

Senators are elected for a four-year term and representatives are elected for a two-year term. However, in election years ending in 0, such as 2020, senators serve for a two-year term in order to provide for the redistricting process done in conjunction with the United States census.

District 56 State Senator

Savage, west Burnsville and north Lakeville. 

  • Dan Hall, R*
  • Lindsey Port, DFL 
  • Kevin Shea, DFL
  • Richard Tucker, DFL

District 56A State Representative 

Savage and western Burnsville. 

  • Basil Martin, R
  • Pam Myhra, R
  • Jessica Hanson, DFL

Hunter Cantrell, DFL-Savage, currently holds this seat and is not seeking re-election. 

County Offices

County commissioner and county soil and water conservation district seats are four-year terms and nonpartisan races. 

County Soil and Water Conservation District 4 Supervisor

District includes Prior Lake Precincts 1, 5, 6A, 6B and 7, Savage Precincts 5 and 7 and Shakopee Precincts 4, 12A and 12B.  

  • Jim Fitzsimmons *

County Soil and Water Conservation District 5 Supervisor

District includes Savage Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 9 and Credit River Township.

  • Robert Casey*