Rep. Tony Albright is one of the few politicians I like and respect. He takes the time to write summaries for the Jordan Independent, and he’s not above trading good-natured ribbing. I agree with him on most issues.

Two weeks ago, in one such summary, he wrote: “The House Democrats and Governor Walz’s obsession with tax increases forced the special session to happen.”

That got me thinking (which is always dangerous).

Communication is a two way street, right? What about obsession? Are only the people on one side of an issue obsessed? If Democrats are obsessed with raising taxes, are Republicans obsessed with cutting taxes? So where does that leave us Republicrats and Democans?

Today I saw a meme on Facebook. It said “Stop being Democratic or Republican. Be honest, have morals, show empathy, value integrity. Be a GOOD HUMAN.”

I’ll drink to that. No one is always right. No one is always wrong.

Human beings have the ability to work together for the common good. But when we start saying “he’s obsessed,” we’re pretty much denying that we ourselves might be obsessed. And when we set ourselves up as absolute arbiters of right and wrong, we imply that we are smarter, more moral, and somehow better than anyone else.

I never thought much of either of the Clintons, nor of Donald Trump. To me they’re simply not good people. I don’t think much of either major political party. More and more they’re trying to force me into extreme positions that don’t reflect my understanding of what it takes for people to get along with each other.

The sad thing is, us Republicrats and Democans don’t have anyone to speak for us, and we’re too timid to speak for ourselves. Last night (Monday) I went to a Jordan City Council meeting. There were five people in the audience. Only one of them had anything to say during the public comment.

Folks, if you’re afraid of the City Council, they have no reason to respect you. If their obsession with spending your money isn’t countered by public comment, why should they care what you think? If they (there are seven of them) can’t find the time to write a commentary to the JI now and again, maybe you should turn the tables, and write letters to the editor.

Oh, you’re afraid of what your friends will think? Maybe you need better friends — the kind of friends who don’t care if you’re a Republicrat or a Democan. Just remember, before you say someone is obsessed about something, consider that you may be obsessed about the other side of the same coin.

You can email the City Council here:

Tanya Velishek, Honorable Mayor: tanyavelishek@jordanmn.gov

Robert Whipps, Council Member: robertwhipps@jordanmn.gov

Jeremy Goebel, Council Member: jeremygoebel@jordanmn.gov

Bill Heimkes, Council Member: bheimkes@jordanmn.gov

Jeff Will, Council Member: jeffwill@jordanmn.gov

Amanda Schuh, Council Member: aschuh@jordanmn.gov

Terry Stier, Council Member: terrystier@jordanmn.gov

The Quote:

“I don’t think I have an obsession, however I do eat chocolate every day.” — Eric Ripert

Thom Boncher is a retired marketing communications manager, former Jordan City Council member, and Jordan resident since Valentine’s Day, 2003.

South regional editor

Deena is the regional editor for Shakopee, Jordan, Prior Lake and Savage and is passionate about uncovering the truth. Deena also enjoys gardening, playing tennis and up-cycling furniture.

Events

Recommended for you