Nick Oxborough

Nick Oxborough is the season points leader in Power Stocks through five weeks of racing.

A little rain didn't slow down the action at the Elko Speedway June 22.

Chad Walen of Prior Lake won one of the two Late Models features for the second week in a row, while Chris Marek of Lakeville also earned a checkered flag. Jacob Goede of Carver remained atop the season point standings, 19 better than Marek.

Other feature winners included:

  • Conrad Jorgenson of Lakeville, Thunder Cars
  • Bryce Blohm of Lakeville, Thunder Cars
  • Matt Frye of Bloomington, Power Stocks
  • Michael Stoer of Prior Lake, Power Stocks
  • Baiden Heskett of Shakopee, Great North Legends
  • Cole Klein of Rogers, Great North Legends
  • Kody King of Forest City, Iowa, Bandoleros
  • Alex Hartwig of Portage, Wisconsin, Bandoleros

In the first Late Models feature, Adam Oxborough took the early lead until being challenged by Jeremy Wolff, who finally took the lead on lap 11 of 30. Walen drove up alongside of Wolff and got by him at the halfway point of the race.

A couple cautions slowed the field, but Walen held the top spot, beating Owin Giles to the finish line by .507 seconds. Wolff finished third, followed by Justin Neisius and Oxborough.

In the second race, Marek took the early lead and held on for the win, but it was not easy. Marek was challenged from beginning to end by Adam Bendzick, who was side-by-side with Marek much of the race.

Bendzick finished second and Bryan Wrolstad was third. Goede took fourth and Lawrence Berthiaume was fifth.

In the first Thunder Cars race, Keith Paulsrud had the early lead until Jorgenson passed him on lap 13. Blohm drove up and challenged Jorgenson for the lead.

It was an epic battle that ended with a drag race to the finish line. Jorgenson won by just .025 seconds over Blohm. Eric Campbell took third, followed by Keith Paulsrud and Johnny Magnum.

In the second Thunder Cars race, Norm Grabinger grabbed the early lead until Blohm charged up to the top spot on lap eight. Jorgenson fought Blohm for the lead side by side, but this time the outcome was different.

Blohm prevailed by .38 seconds. Campbell was third again, followed by followed by Paulsrud and Grabinger.

Jorgenson leads Blohm by nine in the season points race.

In the first Power Stocks race, Matt Frye of Bloomington had the early lead before having a hard-fought battle with Hamilton for the top spot. Hamilton increased his lead and crossed the finish line first. But he failed the post-race inspection, so he was disqualified.

Frye, Joe Prusak and Stoer all crossed the finish within .271 seconds of each other with Frey winning. Prusak finished second, while Stoer took third. Nick Oxborough was fourth and Taylor Goldman took fifth.

In the second race, Julie Jorgenson took the early lead and had a good battle with Stoer, who won by .077 seconds over Jorgenson in the end. Goldman was third, followed by Oxborough and Prusak.

Oxborough leads Stoer by 37 in the season points race.

In the first Legends race, Matt Allen led early until Robbie Carter of Prior Lake took over the top spot. Carter was passed by Klein, who was passed by Jon Lemke on lap 11.

Klein and Lemke got tangled up on lap 15 and that brought out the caution flag. After the restart, Heskett charged up to the lead and won by .568 seconds. Austin Jahr was second, followed by Lemke, Allen and Will McCully.

In the second race, Klein held a huge advantage early and he extended that lead before a late race caution flag with five laps to go bunched up the field. Klein was able to fight back Heskett in the short sprint to the checkered flag by just .159 seconds. Allen was third, followed by Jahr fourth and Lemke.

Heksett has a 38-point lead over Klein in the season points race.

In the first Bandoleros race, King took the lead and looked to be cruising to a victory until Hartwig drove up and passed him in corner two on the last lap. But Hartwig pushed his car a bit hard coming into the final set of turns. He washed up the track and King drove back under him for the win. Hartwig held on for second, followed by Ayrton Brockhouse, Jensen Vadnais and Adam Ratliff.

In the second Bandoleros race, Josiah Kottschade led until Hartwig took over the top spot on lap four. He was challenged by Brockhouse on numerous laps but he held on for the win. Brockhouse finished second, followed by Kottschade, Adam Ratliff and James Starcher.

Hartwig is 27 points ahead of Kottschade in the season points race.

Racing action at Elko Speedway continues June 29 starting at 6 p.m.

Tom Schardin covers sports for Savage and Prior Lake. He is dependable, sarcastic and always joking around. Tom enjoys running and swimming and is often busy coaching his two kids' sports teams.


Recommended for you