Jordan softball all-conference

Julia Plechaty, Selena Dalton and Rebecca Melin all earned Minnnesota River Conference all-conference honors.

The Minnesota River Conference has announced its all-conference softball team and honorable mentions.

Jordan’s Selena Dalton and Rebecca Melin were named to the all-conference team.

Julie Plechaty received an honorable mention.

According to the MRC:


Junior Selena Dalton started every game for the Jags and was the leader on the field. She did many things offensively and pressured the defense to do things very quickly. She could lay down a bunt or drive one over the fence. Her speed on the bases (13/13 SBs) was a big advantage for the team. She was a very heads-up aggressive base-runner.

Defensively, she was the anchor. She played a great shortstop with good range and possesses a very strong, accurate arm. Good determination and will power make this team captain a good team player.

She is the daughter of Mike and Aileen Dalton.


Senior captain and team leader Rebecca Melin had a great season as a team player always keeping the team loose and having fun.

When it was time, she had a strong desire to compete and worked very hard at improving her skills – both offensively and defensively. Her versatility was a major asset.

She was at or near the top in every offensive category and led the team in RBI while batting .529 with runners in scoring position.

She is the daughter of Michelle and David Melin.


Other all-conference selections: Sadie Erickson, NYA, senior, second base/pitcher; Auna Hallquist, NYA, senior, pitcher; Audrey Steinhagen, NYA, senior, left field; Lily Schneider, NYA, senior, catcher; Kennedy Pexa, NYA, junior, right field; Liz Milam, Le Sueur-Henderson, senior, shortstop; Kelsey Berndt, Le Sueur-Henderson, senior, pitcher; Halle Bemmels, Le Sueur-Henderson, sophomore, centerfield; Olivia Fritz, Le Sueur-Henderson, sophomore, third base; Elly Novak, Tri-City United, senior, pitcher; Brooke Blaschko, Tri-City United, sophomore, right field; Sydney Sartori, Tri-City United, junior, second base; Sydney Schott, Sibley East, senior, pitcher; Morgan Mathews, Sibley East, senior, shortstop; Anna Asmus, Mayer Lutheran, senior, pitcher/right field; Chloe Kirt, Mayer Lutheran, freshman, first base/pitcher; Jessica Brueggemeier, Belle Plaine, senior, pitcher; Ella Schmidt, Southwest Christian, sophomore, pitcher/outfield.


Those deserving honorable mentions include: Abby Mackenthun, NYA, senior, shortstop; Erica Cronk, Le Sueur-Henderson, senior, left field; Ellie Singleton, Tri-City United, junior, shortstop; Julie Plechaty, Jordan, senior, third base; Madi Krentz, Sibley East, senior, outfield; Anna Karels, Mayer Lutheran, junior, left field; Lauren Johnson, Belle Plaine, sophomore, catcher; Claire Larkin, Southwest Christian, junior, catcher.

The coaches named Sadie Erickson of Norwood-Young America as the 2019 MRC Most Valuable Player.

The coaches named Kelsey Berndt of Le Sueur-Henderson as the 2019 MRC Most Valuable Pitcher.

Joe Kley of Norwood-Young America was named the 2019 MRC Softball Coach of the Year.