Election 5

Voters fill out ballots on Election Day at Prior Lake City Hall in 2018.

July 28 marked the first day candidates interested in running for Prior Lake local offices could file their candidacy for the Nov. 3 election. Filings closed at 5 p.m. on Aug. 11.

A total of four seats are up for election within the city.


The mayoral seat, currently held by Kirt Briggs, is up for election.

Briggs announced his campaign for re-election July 28. He was elected mayor in 2016 and has served since Jan. 9, 2017.

City Council

Two four-year terms on the city council are up for election. The seats are currently held by Councilmember Zach Braid and Councilmember Kevin Burkart. Both Braid and Burkart were elected in 2016 and filed for re-election July 28. Kyle Frederiksen filed for candidacy Aug. 11

City Council - Special Election

A special election will be on the November ballot to fill the vacancy from previous councilmember Warren Erickson who resigned in May.

Kimberly Churchill, Lee Hacklander, David Bryant and Dan Cronquist have all filed their candidacy. The vacancy is for a two-year term.

School Board

There are three vacancies on the Prior Lake-Savage Area School Board.

Board Chair Lee Shimek, Director Melissa Enger and Director Mary Frantz have seats up for election.

Here are the individuals who filed for candidacy:

  • Incumbent, Mary Frantz
  • Nneka Sederstrom
  • Julie Bernick
  • Amy Crosby
  • Farheen Hassan
  • J B Davis III
  • Jonathan Painter

Candidates will be elected to the school board during the November election and begin their four-year terms on Jan. 1. At its Jan. 11 organizational meeting the PLSAS board will decide who will serve as chair and directors.