Oath of Office

From left, Prior Lake-Savage Area School Boardmembers Stacey Ruelle, Michael Nelson and Jonathan Drewes take the oath of office as administered by board member Lee Shimek earlier this year. 

Three new members and one re-elected member were sworn in on Monday for four-year terms on the Prior Lake-Savage Area School Board.

School board members Stacey Ruelle, Michael Nelson, Jonathan Drewes and Enrique Velazquez won seats on the board in the November election amid 11 total candidates.

Ruelle was the sole incumbent in the election — Richard Wolf, Ben Hanson and Todd Sorensen did not run for re-election.

Ruelle, Nelson, Drewes and Velazquez all received endorsements from the Prior Lake Savage Education Association, voicing support for the November 2016 referendum and for transparency in the decisions the board makes.

During the campaign, all the candidates mentioned growth as one of the biggest issues facing Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools in the next four years.

Board member Lee Shimek was also elected as chair of the board during the Monday meeting.


Recommended for you