Racing Action

Late Models, Thunder Cars, Power Stocks and Legends were in action at Elko Speedway June 1.

It was double feature night at Elko Speedway June 1 as the 54th season of racing action is in full swing.

Conrad Jorgenson of Lakeville was a double winner, taking first in both Thunder Car features.

Other features winners included Michael Ostdiek of Lakeville in the first Late Models race and Owin Giles of New Market in the second one, Baiden Heskett of Shakopee in the first Legends race and Tristan Swanson of New Market in the second one, Paul Hamilton of Hastings in the first Power Stocks race and Nick Oxborough of Savage in the second one and Josiah Kottschade of Ramsey in the first Bandoleros race and Alex Hartwig of Portage, Wisconsin in the second one.

Racing action continues June 8 at Elko starting at 6 p.m. For more information, go to or call 952-461-7223.

In the first Lake Models race, Joe Neisius took the early lead, before Ostdiek took over the top spot on lap three. Adam Bendzick put a lot of pressure on Ostdiek for the lead and raced him side by side for numerous laps.

But Ostdiek was able to hold on for the win by .468 seconds. Bendzick was second, followed by Justin Neisius, Joe Neisius and Chris Marek.

In the second feature, Dylan Moore lead the first portion of the race until he had mechanical problems. Jeremy Wolff grabbed the top spot, but he also had problems and eventually went to the pits.

Giles took over the top spot at the halfway mark of the 30-lapper and he extended his lead as the battle ensued behind him. Jacob Goede finished 1.128 seconds behind Giles in second, while Michael Hanson was third. Marek took fourth and Ryan Kamish was fifth.

In the first Thunder Cars race, there was a big wreck down the front stretch sending three top cars to the pits — Norm Grabinger, Dillon Sellner and Eric Campbell.

Bryce Blohm had the lead early, but Jorgenson jumped up eight spots and took over after a restart and won by an impressive 1.999 seconds. Blohm finished second, followed Keith Paulsrud, Colin Neisius and Robert Michaels.

In the second race, Jack Larson led the first half of the race until Jorgenson worked his way up to the top spot. He cruised to his second victory by 1.951 seconds over Blohm.

Campbell was third, followed by Paulsrud and Dan Streiff.

In the first Legends feature, Hans Roeschli led lap one until Dirk Henry took the top spot. An incident on lap six sent three top cars to the back and Robbie Carter was the leader.

However, Heskett moved up seven spots and grabbed the lead at the halfway point and won by .432 seconds over Carter. Cole Klein was third, followed by Matt Allen and Roeschli.

In the second race, Dirk Henry grabbed he top spot with Swanson closely following. He passed Henry on lap nine and the two racers battled for numerous laps after that.

Klein continued his good night and moved up nine positions to finish in second place just .404 behind Swanson. Henry was third, followed by Austin Jahr and Heskett.

In the first Power Stocks race, Hamilton stayed ahead of all the action behind him and won by .928 second over Joe Prusak. Oxborough finished third, while Michael Stoer was fourth and Taylor Goldman took fifth.

In the second feature, Ben Gannon and Josh Gernentz battled for the lead for the first half of the race with the rest of the field anxiously looking for an opportunity to pounce.

A series of cautions occurred that had Gannon, Goldman and Tom Doten end up at the rear of the field. That left Gernentz and Michaud to battle for the lead.

Michaud grabbed the top spot and crossed the finish line first just ahead of Oxborough. But after, Oxborough was declared the winner after Michaud was disqualified after post race inspection. Prusak was second, followed by Stoer, Hamilton and Matt Fry.

In the first Bandoleros race, Josiah Kottschade took the early lead, but on lap three Kody King had it. On the last lap, Ayrton Brockhouse and King had contact and they were sent to the back of the field.

Kottschade was declared the winner. Alex Hartwin was second, followed by Jenson Vadnais in third, Justin Ziemiecki in fourth and Zachary Konop in fifth.

In the second feature, Kottschade led early. Brockhouse then took the top spot until Hartwig established himself as the leader, winning by 2.062 seconds over Brockhouse.

Adam Ratliff finished third with Kottschade in fourth and Clayton Dorner in fifth.

Tom Schardin covers sports for Savage and Prior Lake. He is dependable, sarcastic and always joking around. Tom enjoys running and swimming and is often busy coaching his two kids' sports teams.


Recommended for you