City of Savage flags

Six local office seats will be up for grabs this November in Savage.

Updated at 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday

Six local office seats will be up for grabs this November in Savage. Here are the candidates who have filed as of Wednesday, Aug. 5.

The Savage Pacer will provide regular online updates until the filing period closes Aug. 11. 


Savage Mayor Janet Williams filed to run for re-election on the opening day of the filing period, and Kim Holler entered the mayor's race the next day. 

Williams became mayor in 2004. She's served four consecutive terms, and is currently serving an additional term year alongside the Savage City Council in order to align with Scott County's even-year municipal elections. 

Holler is an alternate member of the city's Advisory Communications Commission. 

Councilors Christine Kelly and Matt Johnson will see their terms expire this year. 

William 'Bill' Marx filed July 29 to run for council. 

Johnson, first elected in 2016, filed his paperwork to seek re-election on Aug. 3. 

Kelly, a councillor since 2008, has not yet filed for re-election. 


Maryan Ali, of Eagan, filed to run for a seat on the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School Board on July 29. 

On Aug. 3, incumbent Eric Miller, of Savage, entered his name. 

Miller was elected to the board in 2016. He is currently serving as vice chair. 

Incumbents Darcy Schatz and DeeDee Currier had not yet filed to seek re-election. 

Suad (Sue) Said and Toni Connor, both Burnsville residents, joined the race on Aug. 5. 


Recommended for you