Cade Marsolek, Brandon Hugo and Zach Andreason will get to represent the Burnsville baseball team one more time.

The three seniors were selected to play for the Metro South Squad in the in the 45th annual Minnesota All-Star Series at Chaska Athletic Park June 28-29.

The series is broken down into four 20-player teams with other squads from the Metro West, East and North. Each team plays each other once during the series.

For more information, go to

Marsolek, Andreason and Hugo helped lead the Blaze to a 13-10 overall record this past spring (12-6 in the South Suburban Conference), including a 1-2 mark in the Section 3AAAA playoffs.

Marsolek was a top pitcher for the Blaze, while Hugo also pitched and played in the middle infield. Andreason was one of the team's top hitters.

Meanwhile, the All-Star Series was started back in 1975 to recognize some of the top seniors in the state. There have been many players who have played in the game who have gone on to play Major League Baseball.

Some include: Minnesota Twins' Joe Mauer and Glenn Perkins (both in 2001) and former Twins Kent Hrbek (1978), Jim Eisenreich (1977), Tim Laudner (1976), Terry Steinbach (1980), Michael Restovich (1997) and Cole DeVries (2003).

Other SSC players on the Metro South team include: Prior Lake's AJ Lattery and Russ Tanner, Lakeville North's Gavin Baker and Devon Schewe, Farmington's Adam Weed and Brady Bean, Eastview's Zach Selchow and Kyle Nelson, Eagan's Matt Bergom and Apple Valley's Caleb Hoeft.

Tom Schardin covers sports for Savage and Prior Lake. He is dependable, sarcastic and always joking around. Tom enjoys running and swimming and is often busy coaching his two kids' sports teams.


Recommended for you